Search for

Advanced search
 
Home 14 July 2020
Tourism-Modern Life Touristic Substructure Eastern Macedonia and Thrace Prefecture of Kavala Municipality of Pangeo

Audio-Video files
No audio or video files.

Useful links
No links.

Other files
No other files.
Item Coordinates
coordinates       
Topics
Political Tourism
Type of Tourism
Executive Subsumption
Means of Transport
Accomodation
Touristic Substructure
Service Supply/allowance
LOCATION
Eastern Macedonia and Thrace
Municipality of Avdera
Municipality of Aigiros
Municipality of Alexandroupolis
Municipality of Arrianes
Municipality of Vistonida
Municipality of Vissa
Municipality of Didimotihos
Municipality of Doxato
Municipality of Drama
Municipality of Eleftheroupolis
Municipality of Eleftheres
Municipality of Thasos
Municipality of Iasmos
Municipality of Kavala
Municipality of Kalabaki
Municipality of Kato Nevrokopi
Municipality of Keramoti
Municipality of Komotini
Municipality of Kyprinos
Municipality of Maronia
Municipality of Metaxades
Municipality of Myki
Municipality of Neo Sidirohori
Municipality of Nikiforos
Municipality of Xanthi
Municipality of Orino
Municipality of Orestiada
Municipality of Orfano
Municipality of Orfeas
Municipality of Pangeo
Municipality of Paranesti
Municipality of Piereon
Municipality of Prosotsani
Municipality of Samothraki
Municipality of Sapes
Municipality of Sitagres
Municipality of Soufli
Municipality of Stavroupolis
Municipality of Sosto
Municipality of Topiros
Municipality of Traianoupolis
Municipality of Trigono
Municipality of Tihero
Municipality of Pheres
Municipality of Philippoi
Municipality of Philira
Municipality of Chrisoupolis
Commune of Amaxades
Commune of Thermes
Commune of Kehros
Commune of Selero
Commune of Sidironero
Prefecture of Drama
Prefecture of Evros
Prefecture of Kavala
Prefecture of Xanthi
Prefecture of Rodopi
Under Construction: Subtopics All topics
There are no more subtopics under the current topic

25/04/2007
Tourist Destination of Municipality of Pangeo

Baira Kleio
Source: C.E.T.I.
print preview

The Municipality of Pangeo has a population of 4,638 inhabitants and covers an area of 80 km2. It is situated in the northwestern slopes of Mount Pangaion (1,956 m), into a marvelous chestnut forest surrounded by running waters and rich vegetation. This natural balcony affords spectacular views over the plain of Philippi and the mountains of Falakro and Menoikio, which is the end of Rodopi mountain range. Agriculture and livestock farming are the main occupations of the locals. The Municipality is seated at Nikissiani.
Apart from Olympus, mount Pangaion is the second most historic mountain in Greece. According to Plutarch, it is named after Pangaeus, son of Ares and Critovoule. In the times of Homer, the mountain was called Nysa and later Karmanio. It is inhabited since the prehistoric times and the Stone Age. The first inhabitants were called Derriops. The first Thracian tribes appeared in the area in 1800 BC, followed by the Pelasgians in 1500 BC that was a wild and warlike tribe. In 1400 BC, the Phoenicians of Kadmos arrived here; they were a civilized people with inquiring minds and excellent miners. The main Thracian tribes that settled in Mount Pangaion were the Doberians, who lived in the north; the Paeoplians, Paernians and Agrians, who lived in the west; the Pierians in the south; the Siaians and Prasians in the east. In 470 BC, the Athenians arrived in this area in order to occupy the Pangaion mines. The rich gold deposits of Mount Pangaion also attracted the Macedonians, who built the city of Philippi, under Philip II, in 358 BC. The Macedonian Dynasty reached a heyday based exclusively on the exploitation of the goldmines of Mount Paggaion. The timber of the woods served for the construction of the Macedonian fleet. In 168 BC, the area was inhabited by the Romans. In the battle of Philippi, in 42 BC, the defeat of the republicans Brutus and Cassius by Octavian and Antony signified the end of the Roman Republic.
In each municipal district there are various buildings featuring traditional architectural forms. The fountains with running waters in the squares and the various narrow roads passing between the old houses create a distinctive environment and a beautiful atmosphere. One can visit the Monastery of Ikosifinissa and take a tour around the sights of the wider area of Pangaion, visit the Cave of Alistrati or savour the local delicacies at the picturesque taverns of the Municipality of Pangeo and spent some time at the cafés that afford unique views. Visitors may also attend the attractive cultural activities and the revival of traditional customs like the custom of Arapides on the feast of St John and the burning of the fleas, on the eve of the carnival festivities.
Mount Pangaion has been a well-known place of pilgrimage and religious devoutness and became famous for its monasteries during Byzantine times. The main monasteries are the Monastery of Ikosifinissa, founded by Osios Germanos, the Monastery of St Demetrius in Nikissiani, the ruins of the Monastery of St George in Paleochori and the Monastery of St John lying on a rise above Nikissiani, in Mount Pangaion.
Visitors can take a walk in the mountain footpaths of unique beauty that pass through the chestnut and beech forests, next to running waters and wonderful wild flowers. They can also go for climbing on the abrupt slopes and visit the caves, which are difficult to approach as well as visit the abandoned mine galleries. There is a ski resort on the top of the mountain with several mountain refuges.